Before Emancipation: Searching for African-American Ancestors at the State Archives of North Carolina

Staff at the State Archives will present three topics of instruction that may help researchers who are searching for African-American ancestors who lived prior to the end of the American Civil War (pre-1865).  The three part workshop will include a session on laws concerning slaves and free persons of color, a methodology on investigating a slave narrative and records to explore when searching for information about African-Americans before the end of slavery (1865).

The workshop includes a catered lunch.

Please see the flyer for registration information and date, time and location of the workshop.

The workshop is sponsored by the Friends of the Archives, Inc. and members of the Friends of the Archives receive a discounted registration fee.

http://www.history.ncdcr.gov/SHRAB/ar/blogs/civil_war/B4Emancipation-final.pdf

Please print and fill out the registration section of the flyer; mail registration and fee to the address listed.

One thought on “Before Emancipation: Searching for African-American Ancestors at the State Archives of North Carolina

  1. Robert C. Carpenter

    Chris, You spoke recently at the Seminar sponsored by the Gaston Lincoln Genealogical Society and Lincoln County Historical Association. I am Robert Carpenter, the president of the G-L Gen Soc. I wish that I could attend your presentation as it parallels my Civil War research into the 1863 Gaston County Tax List and the Narrative, which I plan to publish soon. Unfortunately I have another engagement, the Open House for the Hoyle Historic Homestead, on that date. Is there any way that I may access some of your research? I will gladly pay for the privilege. You conducted a wonderful presentation in Lincolnton, which was enjoyed by all. I know that your program will be excellent! I appreciate your taking the time to respond to me. Robert C. Carpenter

Comments are closed.