Posted by: Ashley | September 27, 2011

Maps and MARS

Today the NC Property Mappers Association visited the State Archives for a tour and an introduction to what we do and the resources we have. If you were among those who visited us today, thank you for your time and attention – I hope I didn’t bore you with my Russian nesting doll and addresses vs. Social Security numbers MARS analogies.

I promised the attendees today that I would post a PDF copy of the handout I used – you can find that here. It does not include the information that Druscie spoke about for the most part, including NC Maps and GeoMAPP, but I’ve included links to those sites here just in case you didn’t get a chance to write down their URLs.

Of course, if you didn’t attend today you are also welcome to use the handout – it simply lists some important links and other information related to map resources in our online catalog MARS, our websites, and the North Carolina Digital Collections. On the back are two land grant documents, scanned from the microfilm, just to give you an idea of what types of materials can be included in that information. And, as I mentioned today and whenever I talk, you can always email us with questions and/or comment on this blog.

Categories

