Daily Archives: August 4, 2011

C. D. Mann General Merchandise Records and Wilbur Wright Hotel Guest Register

There are two new finding aids on the Outer Banks History Center (OBHC) website:

C. D. Mann General Merchandise Records, 1919-1940 (PDF)
S. E. Mann General Merchandise was located in Manns Harbor, North Carolina, from 1919 to 1940. It was owned and operated by Samuel E. Mann and his son Carl D. Mann until the death of Samuel in 1921, when the business became known as C. D. Mann General Merchandise. C. D. Mann also owned several other businesses in Manns Harbor, including a saw mill, a dry cleaning service, the Croatan Theatre, and a service station. The C. D. Mann General Merchandise Records relate to the C.D. Mann Store and include invoices, bank statements, and correspondence. The invoices, in particular, provide a fascinating glimpse into the local economy and the availability and cost of various commodities and services. (1.42 cubic feet.)

Wilbur Wright Hotel Guest Register, 1939-1944 (PDF)
The Wilbur Wright Hotel opened for business July 1, 1939 on the oceanfront in the vicinity of the Wright Brothers Memorial in present day Kill Devil Hills. It was built by Thomas A. Baum who operated a ferry service from Kitty Hawk to Point Harbor. Baum’s daughter, Diane Baum St. Clair managed the hotel that hosted guests from across the country. The Wilbur Wright Hotel featured the First Flight Dining Room which served over 1,000 meals in season. Recreational and children’s activities were available for guests. It was destroyed by a waterspout in 1978. This collection consists of a single bound guest register, which lists guests and visitors to the Wilbur Wright Hotel, giving each person’s name, place of residence, room number and date and time of arrival and departure. (1 item.)